Welcome to our new website. Launched November 2021, over 1,000 users in March 2022.

Wherwell Church - List of Vicars

Vicars since the Reformation

1538Cobbe, Richard BA(on death of Thomas Purt)
1559Fleen, John
1569Parret, Edward
1587Bachelor, StephenTransferred to Newton Stacey, later emigrated to New England
1605Bate, JohnBrother-in-law of Stephen Bachelor
1633Smith, John
1661Dowling, William
1679Heskins, Jonathan
1683Acton, Paul(by resignation of Enoch Sambee)
1698Ogden, Samuel
Ogden, Abram
1742Burlton, Theodore(on death of Abram Ogden)
1744King, Richard
1791Iremonger, Lascelles
1801Chamberlayne, George
1803Iremonger, Richard
1819Iremonger, Frederick(on death of Richard Iremonger)
1820Towers, James(on death of Frederick Iremonger)
Iremonger, Lascelles MA
1830Durnford, Richard(on death of Lascelles Iremonger)
1835Goddard, William Stanley DD(on death of Richard Durnford)
1838Evans, Robert
1840Iremonger, Thomas Lascelles
Iremonger, Edward Reginald
1886Harrison, William
1898Walker, Francis Robert
1898Lee, Lawrence Cust
1917Taylor, Bertram Charles
1926Lewis, Alfred(resigned as last Vicar of Wherwell in 1943)

* Notes: The list above is based on that provided by the late Anthony Tuke in 1975, amended by detail from the Hampshire Records in 1989.

When the Lord of the Manor, in the case of Wherwell, the Lay Rector, was ordained, this led to some duplication the former being known as the Prebendary of Wherwell.

Vicars of Wherwell and Rectors resident in Chilbolton

1943Cannon H L Marsh – Rector of Chilbolton since 1935
1948 Russell-Chapman, W W
1966Gawne, Murray E
1977Hubbard, Christopher M
1991Williams, Errol
2008Montague, Juliet
2014Machin, Jax


No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *