Welcome to our new website and online catalogue – over 6,000 users since launch in November 2021.

Heraldic Shields Mystery

Picture of the Norman Church, Wherwell, 1830
Grey de Wilton coat of Arms behind the Iremonger Mausoleum

Can anyone throw more light on our mystery?
Below on the left is a picture of the Norman church in 1830 with a close up of the nave wall on the right showing some heraldic shields.
We know that they were part of the stone panelling brought from the Abbey when it was destroyed at the time of the Dissolution in 1539 and built into the south wall of the chancel of Norman church. It would appear that they were saved by the local builder Richard Holdaway when the Norman church was pulled down to make way for the Henry Woodyer designed Victorian church built during 1856/58.
A year later Richard Holdaway was commissioned to build the mausoleum for the Lords of the Manor and took the opportunity to include the stone shields in the walls, as well as at least three medieval quarr stone heads (circa 12th) below the eaves.
We have been unable to discover the origins of the Heraldic Shields that were described and sketched by TD Powell (a antiquarian whose note books are held in the Hampshire Records Office) during his visit to the
church in 1840 – see journal sketches alongside.
But as to the origins of the shields we know little. According to TD Powell these are the heraldry shields of the Segrave and Grey de Wilton families – but no connection has been found with the village of Wherwell or the Abbey.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.